Now What Should I Do?

When I finished college I was certain I had the start of my career all worked out. I had a senior level contact in the company I wanted to work with. The company had invited me in for testing. I was excited and all set to start. But God had other plans. In a miraculous way, God not only closed the door on this job, He slammed it shut. I was devastated. You see, I had a plan but God had another plan.

I often think about the life of Joseph that we read about in the Bible. I suspect his plans didn’t include being thrown into a well, sold into slavery, and placed into prison. Yet, God had another plan for him. God’s plan for Joseph developed a young man with few skills into a man who would lead most of Egypt. Joseph followed the plan of God, a very difficult plan, for thirteen years before God’s plan finally made sense to Joseph.

How about you? Did you think you had it all figured out and now find your plans have fallen apart? Maybe your dreams for your family aren’t working out the way you planned. Perhaps reports from your doctor have you wondering how your future will take shape. Maybe your career plans have fallen apart and you’re wondering what to do next. You see, God always has a plan but sometimes it’s another plan…not the one you developed.

So let me encourage you today to relax when your plans aren’t working. Listen to what God is telling you. Don’t be like those who just run in circles trying to figure out what to do next. These folks are anxious, they can’t sleep, and they call everyone looking for advice.

Instead, follow what God has said in Psalm 46, verse 10. Here is the verse:

Be still, and know that I am God!

Now there is something to think about. When your plans don’t work out, be still. Relax. Release the controls. God has things under His control.

Always remember that when your plans start to unravel, God always has another plan.

Leave a Reply

