What Does Domini Sumus Mean For You?

This week I was listening to my pastor Dr. Scott Borderud. During part of his message he used a phrase that caught my attention. Here is the phrase: Domini Sumus. This is a Latin phrase that simply means, “We belong to the Lord.”

Now before you start thinking those words really aren’t so special, stop and think again. We belong to the Lord. This phrase is really based upon Romans 14:7-8. Here is what those verses say:

For we don’t live for ourselves or die for ourselves. If we live, it’s to honor the Lord. And if we die, it’s to honor the Lord. So whether we live or die, we belong to the Lord.

I don’t know about you but this verse provides tremendous relief for me. In the good times and the bad I belong to the Lord. When I’m having health issues I belong to the Lord. When I have financial problems I belong to the Lord. When I have problems at work I belong to the Lord. I don’t need to worry because in every situation I belong to the Lord.

How about you? Are you struggling with something in your life that seems insurmountable? Something that seems overwhelming to you? Maybe you just can’t see a way out and you are ready to give up. Here’s some good news…if you are a follower of Christ you belong to the Lord. Don’t be discouraged or give up. You are part of God’s family.

If you are not a follower of Christ and you want to learn how to be, get in touch with the folks at Toccoa Falls College or WRAF. We would be thrilled to show you how your life can change dramatically for the better and you too can belong to the Lord.

So take the phrase domini sumus and write it on your wall, your screen saver, your to do list, your phone or where ever you will constantly see it. Every time you look at that phrase say to yourself, I belong to the Lord. Take comfort in the fact that you have a heavenly Father who loves you dearly and will lead and comfort you throughout your life.

Domini Sumus…you belong to the Lord!

Leave a Reply

