Ouch…That Really Hurt!

When is the last time you got a good punch in the stomach? A punch that you didn’t see coming…it just blindsided you. It left you bent over trying to catch your breath. I’m not talking about a physical punch. I’m talking about an emotional punch. I think that emotional punches are the most painful.

Some of you might be suffering from one of those punches right now. Have you been hit by a health issue, an issue with your spouse, an issue with your children, depression, or one of many other emotional attacks? If you have, I promise that you’re not the only one facing such an issue.

Sometimes folks believe that if they follow Christ life will be only happiness and problems will just disappear. Well, that is certainly never promised in scripture. As believers we will face all sorts of disappointments and struggles…it’s just a part of living. So, as believers in Christ how do we handle these situations? What defense do we have to counter these emotional punches?

Let me tell you in one word what we have. Hope. We have hope. But I don’t mean hope in the context used by so many today such as, I hope my favorite football team wins. I hope my hair turns out right. I hope my Thanksgiving turkey is perfect. I hope I get a raise. No…I mean we have a different kind of hope.

The hope I’m talking about is the hope found in Romans chapter 12. Here is what it says:

Rejoice in our confident hope. Be patient in trouble and keep on praying.

What is our confident hope? It is our hope in an all powerful, loving God. In fact, Romans 15:13 takes this issue of hope and puts it in perspective. Here’s what we read there:

I pray that God, the source of hope, will fill you completely with joy and peace because you trust in him. Then you will overflow with confident hope through the power of the Holy Spirit.

So today place your hope in God and I pray that your pain will turn to joy and peace.

By the way…I hope you enjoy the out takes at the end of the video!

One thought on “Ouch…That Really Hurt!

Leave a Reply

