I Remember…

Recently I have been thinking about the faithfulness of God.  There have been things in my life that I have been diligently praying about.  One by one, I have seen God continuously answer my prayers.  Yet, sometimes I move right on to the next thing…asking God now to intervene in my next troubling situation. Sometimes I even begin to forget about the many times God has answered my prayers.

I do believe that God realizes that the human mind is just naturally forgetful.  I am reminded in the fourth chapter of Joshua where God commands Joshua to create a memorial of twelve stones to remember how God helped Joshua and the people of Israel through a particularly difficult time.  In fact, God said this to Joshua, “When your children ask their fathers in time to come, saying, ‘What are these stones?’ then you shall inform your children, saying, ‘Israel crossed this Jordan on dry ground.’ In other words, God is saying create a memorial so that you will remember what I did here.

So what about you?  Have you created any memorials just to remember what God has done for you?  The next time God does something powerful in your life, I encourage you to get a small object to commemorate the occasion.  Put it on your desk or a bookshelf. Every time you see it you will remember the power of God in your life and be encouraged.  When someone asks you about the items, you will also have the opportunity to tell them about the power of God and the miracles He has performed in your life.

I suspect in very little time you will have quite a collection of memorials representing the work that God has done in your life.  These memorials will serve as an encouragement to you as you continue to seek God.

Just like Joshua and his descendants, as you look at your collection of memorials you will always be reminded of God’s faithfulness and his deep love for you.

Leave a Reply

