Stuck Again?

This weekend I got my car stuck in the mud.  The more I tried to get the car out, the deeper it sank.  I tried the usual approaches but my car simply sank deeper and deeper.  I tried all sorts of things to get the car free. Of course the ideas were brilliant and creative but after trying each new idea the wheels on my car would only spin faster…still stuck in the mud and digging deeper.  Finally, I realized I couldn’t fix this on my own.  I tied a rope to my car and using a second car successfully pulled the car out of the mud.

As I was thinking about this I couldn’t help but think about our daily lives.  Have you recently found yourself stuck in the mud?  You didn’t expect it but suddenly something happened in your life that took away your control.  One moment you were happily driving along in life and the next moment you weren’t going anywhere.  The harder you tried to fix your problem the deeper you sank.  You have tried all sorts of good ideas, each time just certain that each idea would fix your problem.  However, with each different attempt to fix your life, your emotional wheels simply spun faster and you found yourself in the same position.  In fact, all your attempts to fix your life problems only dug you deeper in the mud.

It’s time to admit we can’t do everything on our own and to start relying on God.  Go ahead…tie your rope to Him and let him guide you through whatever situation you are facing.

I John 4:4 tells us, The Spirit who lives in you is greater than the spirit who lives in the world.  We don’t need to live our lives struggling on our own.  Allow God to guide you through life.  God hasn’t promised a life without mud but He has promised that He will always be there with a rope to help pull you out of difficult situations and guide you throughout your toughest times.

Leave a Reply

