My New Year’s Resolution is…

Every New Year I listen to folks talk about their resolutions.  I am going to lose weight.  I am going to stop smoking.  I am going to run everyday.  I am going to spend more time with my family.  Did you know that very few New Year’s resolutions ever become reality?

According to ABC News, fifty-eight percent of Americans younger than 45 will make a New Year’s resolution.  In this same 2011 ABC News study, forty percent of those who made a New Year’s resolution didn’t keep it at all.  The remaining sixty percent kept it for at least part of the year.  Do you wonder why so many resolutions are never kept?  Perhaps it is because of one simple letter that started this discussion…the letter “I”.  Remember…I am going to lose weight. I am going to stop smoking. I am going to run everyday.

If we listen to some of the studies on New Year’s resolutions maybe we can see how little we really can do by ourselves.  Maybe it’s time for each of us to let God change us from the inside out.  As the New Year arrives, may I challenge you to make a resolution with a difference?  Will you let God direct your steps this year?

It’s never too late.  No matter what mess you find yourself in this New Year you have a chance to make a resolution involving God that will stick.  In Luke 23 we read the story of the crucifixion of Jesus.  As you may recall, two men were crucified with Jesus.  If these men were being put to death, you know they had done some terrible things.  Yet, while hanging on a cross, one of these men said, Jesus, remember me when you come into your kingdom.  Jesus replied, Truly I tell you, today you will be with me in paradise.  You see, it really is that simple.  A man condemned to death simply resolved to follow Jesus and his life was changed forever.

Will you make a change today that will not only impact the upcoming year but will transform the rest of your life?  As you consider your New Year’s resolution, pick one that will really matter.  Have the resolve to follow Jesus and let your life be changed forever.

Leave a Reply

